Welcome to my fellow recovery champions!

This will be my first blog post for my blog which is dedicated to expressing the challenges and the triumphs, the highs and the lows of recovering from an eating disorder.

Earlier this year I decided after 5 years of suffering from an eating disorder that it was time to be honest with myself. It was time to look myself in the metaphoric mirror and reflect on what I saw.

I saw a young woman who was not happy.  Who still experienced severe insecurities about body image.  A young woman who still harboured an unhealthy relationship with food and exercise.  A young woman who was afraid to admit that she needed help and that she couldn’t live under this cloud of insecurity, pain and suffering anymore.

I sought help, finally, after 5 years of trying to hide that I wasn’t okay.

At first I reached out to my boyfriend.  We had just gone out together.  It was a calm evening in the city.  I turned to him and I said, “I don’t want to live like this anymore.”  Had it slipped out? Probably.  Am I glad it did? Most definitely.

For me, what has helped me so far in my journey towards recovery, is blogs, websites and podcasts dedicated to recovery.  When I went looking I found some great support sites FOR recovery. I want to be a part of that collective recovery voice and collective recovery sentiment.

I don’t want to feed any ED demons. I will also not tolerate any unhelpful or triggering comments.

This site is purely a supportive network and environment for those to heal and recover and share stories of success and triumphs whilst also recognising the challenges.

I endeavour to live a happy, fulfilling life.  This is why the blog is named “a smiley way of life” because that is how I aim to live.

Leave a Reply

