Recovery is Like a Muscle

I was fortunate enough to go to a Mamamia Live event on Monday night.  It was hosted by my Spirit Animal Mia Freedman.  She was interviewing my Spirit Animal #2 Rosie Waterland, also known as hilarious Bachelor Recaps lady, best selling author and just all-round kickass woman.

12028990_1143736492321534_287165872_n

These two women inspire me every day.  They’re passionate, intelligent, capable, self-assured women.  And I love them for it.12033773_1143736498988200_691873066_n

Me and Mia (Spirit Animal 1) ^^    Me and Rosie (Spirit Animal 2) ^^    

After Mia had interviewed Rosie they opened the floor to questions.  Me being me, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity.

I asked if Mia and Rosie had any advice for young writers.  Young writers such as myself who adore the craft but don’t know how to make it a career.  Young writers like myself who are afraid they’re not good enough to ever make it.

Mia’s response was profound. She said: “Practise, practise, practise.  Writing is like a muscle so write, write, write. You can edit words but you can’t edit no words.”

And she is absolutely right.  Writing takes practise.  The more you write, the more you edit.  The more you write and edit, the better you get. If you don’t use it, you lose it.

Recovery is exactly the same.  It’s so easy to stay in a “comfortable” stage of recovery.  It’s so easy to not use the recovery muscle.  You become used to your routine.  Your rules start to relax and certain foods lose their fear factor.  You become comfortable with those foods so you slowly stop pushing your boundaries. You become stuck in a new comfort zone.

The problem with this new comfort zone is that you’re no longer pushing yourself. You’re no longer challenging yourself with situations you fear or foods that make you uncomfortable.

I noticed recently that this was happening to me.  I’ve come such a long way since I first started recovery. I am proud of what I have achieved. I am glad that I’ve been able to push myself past my comfort zone.  It has liberated me in so many ways and has improved my mental and physical health exponentially.

But.  It’s important not to plateau. It’s important to exceed the new comfort zone and try things that you’re still fearful of.  It’s important to use that recovery muscle because the less you use it the weaker it becomes.  The weaker it becomes the more vulnerable you are for the ED to attempt a comeback.

No growth or change ever occurs when you’re in your comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

