We need to talk about New Years resolutions.

It’s a brand new year.

And with a new year comes new years resolutions. We set goals for the coming months. We convince ourselves that this year will be different. We’ll achieve more at work. We’ll clean more at home. We’ll get better grades at uni. We’ll be a nicer person.

I’m a goal orientated person. I set KPIs and to-do lists. I work hard to achieve my goals. I believe having a resolution is a great idea. Resolutions should be positive. But these days, I’m not so sure they are.

3 new
I’m a goal orientated person.

New Year comes a week after the Christmas period. A period in which we all proclaim we “over-eat” and “indulge” ourselves.

Come New Years Day there’s a barrage of weight loss paraphernalia around. Diet shakes and Jenny Craig ads. Lettuce at half price. You name it. Businesses start capitalising on our insecurities to make big money. Weight loss is sold in a little shiny package. It’s even got a cute gold bow on the top.

We all know that diets don’t work. That’s common knowledge now. It’s a quick fix but it doesn’t last forever.

I came across an Instagram post, made by a famous Australian radio presenter the other day. She had a box labelled: “Skinny clothes. Warning: Only open when you are back down to 68kg”.

Mel G.jpg
Image via @melgreigradio Instagram.

The caption reads: “Keeping myself motivated whilst packing”. She uses the hashtags “healthyliving” and “weightlossgoals”.

Seeing this Instagram post stirred a few emotions within me. Β I was frustrated that yet another person had succumbed to the weight loss lie. But I was also saddened that she is so preoccupied by her weight. She’s moving. She’s got a new job. She’s starting a new life. Yet she is fixated on her weight.

It reminded me of a time when I too was fixated on my weight. And how that obsession did absolutely nothing for me.

It took me back to a time when I too had “skinny” clothes. Everytime I saw them at the back of the wardrobe or at the bottom of the draw I felt a pang in my heart. They taunted me and teased me. They were a reflection of my former fragile, insecure self.

I can’t remember the day I threw them out. I wish I could tell you that I burned them or ripped them apart. But I didn’t. I don’t have an elaborate story about how I banished my “skinny clothes”. All I know is that they’re not in my life anymore. Because I’ve moved on. I’m a different person. I’ve got a different body. And that’s not just okay, that’s awesome.

My “skinny clothes” didn’t motivate me. They depressed me. I thought being in those clothes again would fulfill me. I thought that losing ‘x’ kilos would make everything okay. And it couldn’t have been further from the truth.

Sophia
Conquering Mount Warning.

Which is why I am calling on you, my readers, to throw away your “skinny clothes” if you have any and resolve to be comfortable with where your body is at. I ask you not to have weight goals but to have health goals, if you wish to change your lifestyle.

I am resolving this year, to allow my body to be where it wants to be. I will not interfere. I will care for it because it deserves my attention. I may be frustrated sometimes when I get self-conscious, but I won’t allow that frustration to develop into punishment.

This year my resolution is to treat myself well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

