We need to talk about the Veronicas.

The music video for the Veronica’s new single “On Your Side” has dropped.

It’s epic.

It’s directed by Ruby Rose who has recently spoken about her romance with Jessica from The Veronicas. The video is beautifully shot and I am so glad we are celebrating same-sex relationships in the mainstream media.

But there’s something I need to get off my chest and I’ve wanted to for a long time.

We need to talk about The Veronicas. Both Jess and Lisa.

I’ve been following both ladies for a while. I’ve been a fan of theirs since they dropped their first album way back when (was it 2005)?

I was in primary school and I would blast their hit single ‘4ever’ like there was no tomorrow. I was obsessed and I loved them to bits.

I still do. I’ve been a fan since that day. I’ve sung along to “Hook Me Up”, I’ve danced to “Untouched”. Their sound has changed over the years as they’ve developed into different artists.

But there’s one thing I’ve noticed about them more than anything else. They’re getting skinnier and skinnier.

picmonkey-collage
Lisa and Jess in 2005 (left) and in 2016 (right)

And now I have to say that I think it’s gone too far without saying something.

I really don’t want to be accused of skinny shaming here. I’m merely pointing out something that’s bleedingly obvious that noone seems to be talking about. We’re frightened that as soon as we express our concern for people who have lost a substantial amount of weight, we get shut down for skinny shaming.

It’s none of our business or they’re naturally that way.

Now, I don’t know what’s going on in Jess and Lisa’s lives.

I don’t want to accuse them of having an eating or exercise disorder because I just don’t know. But I’ve observed the change in their bodies and I’m aware that what’s happened to them is similar to what I’ve seen in plenty of other women. And it isn’t normal for people to look like that when they have never looked like that before and when their condition is getting worse and worse.

“On Your Side” was actually hard to watch. Because Jess, to me, looks extremely frail.

Lisa and Jess didn’t look like that in 2005 when The Veronicas first hit the scene. Lisa and Jess didn’t look like that when their second album dropped a few years later. This has progressed over many years. Seeing that decline in their condition doesn’t just frighten me, it also worries me. Because as a fan I WANT them to be happy and well and healthy. I’m scared that it’s gotten to a stage where they aren’t and I don’t want the fear of being accused of skinny shaming to stop an important conversation being had.

This is not about shaming, it’s about expressing concern.  And yeah, we need to be able to do that. Especially when that person is in the public eye and has a significant fan base of young, impressionable women and girls.

Some people are naturally thin. That’s true. Of course everyone is blessed with a different body type (etc etc). But that doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t have the conversation when we see someone lose such an extreme amount of weight that they start looking frail and you don’t recognise them anymore.

picmonkey-collage-2

I’m worried this post is going to be misconstrewed as me judging The Veronicas and criticising them. That’s not what this is about at all. This article is relevant to any person who’s in your life who’s obviously lost a lot of weight in a short period of time.

The usual reaction is not to say anything. You’re worried but you don’t know how to breach the topic. Do you confront them and risk it all going pear-shaped? Do you let it slide and have to stand by as you watch them get worse? It isn’t easy to navigate. I know because I’ve been there. On both sides. I’ve been the person people have been worried about. And I’ve been the person worried about someone else.

It’s tough. I don’t know if I have the answer. But I know that it’s important to talk about it. Because the conversation that you have with the loved one you’re concerned about could be the catalyst they need. It could be the moment that changes their life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

